Cross-Country Trip: What not to miss?

JoNightshade

has finally arrived
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ramseyhootman.com
Looks like my husband may get a job in Baltimore soonishly. If that happens, we'll be driving our car cross-country while a moving company does the rest. I'd like to make it into a cross-country adventure!

So help me out, AWers! What should we see on our way from LA to Baltimore? We don't have to travel in a straight line. :)

Here's what I've got so far:

- Grand Canyon
- Mount Rushmore
- The Alamo
- Chicago
- Possibly Yellowstone

So looking at my little map, I've got a lot of empty space out there in the middle of the country.

We both like national parks and I'm an amateur history buff. I also like great architecture.

Ideas???

althrasher

Prodigal Muser
Registered
Reaction score
You could visit the Corn Palace of...(where was that? Iowa?)

I would HIGHLY suggest Yellowstone, but you'd need a week to do it right. That was my favorite vacation of my life. The Grand Tetons are very close--you even get the same NP ticket.

nerds

of all the gin joints
Registered
Reaction score
Sounds wonderful! I have to get to bed but this might be a fun start. (I can't think of serious destinations right now, too sleepy.)

http://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Devil Ledbetter

Come on you stranger, you legend,
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I made this trip with my family when I was six. We moved from San Jose, CA to Michigan.

Here's what I remember most:

Some mountains. Daddy saying I think I can, I think I can as our '71 Volkwagan bus struggles uphill and everyone passes us, even hitchhikers.

Nowheresville, Utah. Mom waking us up at 5 AM and insisting we appreciate the sun rising over the salt flats in the Utah desert. Girls, it's a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Much groaning.

Reno, Nevada. Very sparkly. Just passing through.

Abject boredom. And more abject boredom. And after that, even more abject boredom.