Yipee....I Got The Job!

joyce

I'm really shy...
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thoughtsfromthecave.blogspot.com
I got the job! Now I'll be in training class for three days and then I get to start working at the grocery store. I'm going to be working in the bakery and a cashier. I can't believe that they actually make you go to class to do these things. I had to take a test in class last night and I scored a 100. I was not only the oldest person there but had the highest scores. There's something to be said for older women....yes there is. Since I was an office manager for years and years, some of my friends can't understand why I'd want to work in a grocery store. I don't ever want to work in an office again unless it's my home office. Personally, I think I'm going to have a blast. At least if my husband gets laid off someone in the house will have a job. Now if I could only sell some of my writing. :D

joyce

I'm really shy...
Registered
Reaction score
Website
Thanks guys. I never really left the working world as I had my own landscaping company for almost 15 years. The economy and age has slowed me down in that arena. I'll be 50 this May so dragging trees around and pulling weeds is no longer in the cards of desire. My husband works in the construction industry which presently sucks, at least here. I'm afraid he'll lose his job so I wanted to make sure there was other money coming in just in case. I'll still keep a couple of my long time clients, but for now I'm a Winn Dixie girl.:)

Silver King

Megalops Erectus
Registered
Reaction score
That's great news, Joyce. :)

Who knows? I might bump into you at the local Winn Dixie, where I buy most of my groceries. I'm going to start paying closer attention to name tags, just in case.

William Haskins

poet
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.poisonpen.net
I can't believe that they actually make you go to class to do these things.

first off, congrats.