PDA

View Full Version : Yipee....I Got The Job!

joyce
01-13-2008, 01:01 AM
I got the job! Now I'll be in training class for three days and then I get to start working at the grocery store. I'm going to be working in the bakery and a cashier. I can't believe that they actually make you go to class to do these things. I had to take a test in class last night and I scored a 100. I was not only the oldest person there but had the highest scores. There's something to be said for older women....yes there is. Since I was an office manager for years and years, some of my friends can't understand why I'd want to work in a grocery store. I don't ever want to work in an office again unless it's my home office. Personally, I think I'm going to have a blast. At least if my husband gets laid off someone in the house will have a job. Now if I could only sell some of my writing. :D

Devil Ledbetter
01-13-2008, 01:04 AM
Congrats, Joyce. I hope you enjoy your new job.

quickWit
01-13-2008, 01:06 AM
Congratulations Joyce! Welcome back to the working world!

melaniehoo
01-13-2008, 01:13 AM
Congrats! That certainly sounds more interesting than a boring office. :D

joyce
01-13-2008, 01:17 AM
Thanks guys. I never really left the working world as I had my own landscaping company for almost 15 years. The economy and age has slowed me down in that arena. I'll be 50 this May so dragging trees around and pulling weeds is no longer in the cards of desire. My husband works in the construction industry which presently sucks, at least here. I'm afraid he'll lose his job so I wanted to make sure there was other money coming in just in case. I'll still keep a couple of my long time clients, but for now I'm a Winn Dixie girl.:)

melaniehoo
01-13-2008, 01:23 AM
50? Is that in dog years?

Silver King
01-13-2008, 01:26 AM
That's great news, Joyce. :)