Teachers please comment

KansasWriter

Registered
Reaction score
Just double checking something:

Am I correct in saying that under American law it is not compulsory that children learn a second language any time during kindergarten through high school?

I understand language courses are offered, but nowhere are they compulsory. Correct?

Thanks!
KW

shakeysix

blue eyed floozy
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shakey6wordsmith.webs.com
i am a kansas spanish teacher. in order to graduate high school kids do not need a foreign language credit. in order to qualify as a kansas board of regents scholar a grad needs two foreign language credits. just checked this w/our school counselor--s6

MsJudy

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a California public school first grade teacher. And yes, you are correct. Most elementary (K-6, ages 5-12) schools do not even offer a second language in any form. My county has a large number of Spanish-speaking immigrants from Mexico and El Salvador, so we do have some bilingual programs. Most of the programs teach Spanish-speakers to read and write in Spanish while gradually increasing the amount of English instruction over the years--exiting to English-only somewhere around third grade, though programs do vary. There are also a few "magnet" programs--meaning parents choose to go to them, even if not in that attendance area--that offer "dual-immersion" instruction. In other words, English-speakers and Spanish-speakers together, instruction in both languages, usually using two teachers so each teacher ONLY speaks one of the languages.

In general, California public schools offer no second-language instruction, even as an elective, until high school. Are we backwards or what?

MsJudy

Registered
Reaction score
Oops, I didn't add that I believe California state universities and colleges (we have two separate systems) do require one year of a foreign language for admission, but I could be wrong about that.

KansasWriter

Registered
Reaction score