PDA

View Full Version : My first job interview in 23yrs.....I'm scared.

joyce
01-04-2008, 12:30 AM
Tuesday I will be going on my first job interview in 23 years and I'm laughing but scared to death! Ever since the company I was with went bankrupt 15 years ago I've been a self employed landscaper. My business was great until two years ago when I got very ill and could no longer do the work. The economy sucks right now around here so business has been bad. My husband works for a construction company and might lose his job any day so I felt the need to pick up the slack. I was an office manager for 20 years but can no longer sit for long periods due to a bad back, so I decided to apply for a job at a local grocery store. It's ironic it's the same place I worked when I was 15. OMG I'm a nervous wreck. What if they hate me........I need money.

writerterri
01-04-2008, 12:43 AM
Oh, that's wonderful! I hope you get the job and the interview goes well.

I have been looking for a steady job since July and can't even get an interview, so feel lucky.

I do wish you the best!

quickWit
01-04-2008, 12:47 AM
Congratulations on your interview, Joyce. By way of advice allow me to offer the same advice I gave to True regarding her pending interview here:

http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1930631#post1930631

Best of luck! I hope you get the job!

sassandgroove
01-04-2008, 12:54 AM
When they ask if you can do _______, say yes. Because you can. :) Good luck.

joyce
01-04-2008, 01:01 AM
Thanks everyone! I hope I get it. I keep saying it's a job in a grocery store, surely you'll get it. Then I remember my luck of late and pray it's about to change. I've been so spoiled for so long by running my own schedule that it should be interesting having a schedule written in stone. I was so afraid they'd look at my resume and think I was over qualified for a grocery store job. My extreme desperateness must have shown through. Besides, I think it will be fun working there.