Does truth ever follow fiction for you

Status
Not open for further replies.

Strongbear

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.thegoldilocksgame.com
Does truth ever follow fiction for you? Have you noticed that events in your book have been mirrored uncannily in real life some time after you have written them, to the extent that by the time you finish your book it looks like you copied the event rather than vice versa?

I know that's certainly been the case for me.

Shweta

Sick and absent
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shwetanarayan.org
Yep.
Character interactions more than plot events, for me.

Birol

Around and About
Registered
Reaction score
Way back when I was a lowly undergrad and was taking a creative writing course, I wrote a story about a religious cult. One small detail was that the main family had been instructed to use prayer to raise their daughter from the dead. At the time, several people thought the detail unbelievable. A couple of weeks later, Waco happened. One of the details that came out of that was the members would sometimes use prayer to try to raise the dead.

Rolling Thunder

Registered
Reaction score
The foundation of my first WIP (now being rewritten as an MG novel) is based on the observations I made over the past few years. The characters are real. All I've done is weave my imagination around them. Some of what I wrote happened after the first version, so I went back to rewrite the more interesting parts in.

Last edited:

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
Certain events in my novel have become reality recently. Very strange.

(for those who've read my book, you'll have to guess which events.. ;) )

JeanneTGC

I *am* Catwoman...and Gini Koch
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ginikoch.com
All the time.

I have ice volcanoes in one WIP. The hubs explained how these were impossible (on Earth, yes. On a land seeped with magic? Uh, yeah, possible, okay? I'm the God.)