Anyone play the guitar?

Susie

Thanks, special friend for my avi!
Registered
Reaction score
I got one from a neighbor and can't figure out the basics.:) What exactly are the notes. I thought they were EBGDAE, but not sure. Is that right? Thanks much.

slcboston

Pasture-ized
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Are you asking about the strings? because that's different than the notes. :)

Notes in music are determined by their position on the scale, so I presume you're asking which strings correspond to which notes... and though I'm no expert, I also think some of that is determined by fingering as well as the note represented by the purely plucked string.

Tiger

AKA: "Gums of Steel"
Registered
Reaction score
EADGBE = standard tuning. Open/alsternate tunings are myriad.

astonwest

2 WIP? A glutton for punishment
Registered
Reaction score
Website
astonwest.com
I've thought about the idea of getting myself a guitar to practice. I already know some basics on the electric bass, and figured it wouldn't be too terribly difficult to cross over.

(aside from the nastiness of having more strings to remember...)

Shadow_Ferret

Court Jester
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shadowferret.wordpress.com
Pick up a beginning guitar book that teaches simple notes and chords and go from there. Any shop that sells instruments will have one or a dozen.

Or pick up a Tab Book. These are music books that show where on the neck to put your fingers to play music so you don't need to know how to read music.

cray

Superior Life form
Registered
Reaction score
every good boy does fine

oh wait, no, that's not it,...ask III, he shreds guitars

awatkins

Not harboring illegal parrot
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.geocities.com