Book Collecting Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarita

carpe noctem
Registered
Reaction score
A friend of mine just went through his grandfather's and mother's things (they both died ages ago) and discovered a massive cache of books, some antiques, some obviously collectors items. He's wondering how to handle them. He's not a collector and would like to sell any items that would be worth selling. Some of his items include personal notes from authors to his grandfather, who was a Harvard Art/Literature Scholar.

I collect antique books, but I'm no expert on distribution. Does anyone have any tips or ideas for how to handle this sort of book collection?

Sarita

carpe noctem
Registered
Reaction score
No way, if he's giving them to anyone, it's me! I think I'll take the first edition Following the Equator as my finders fee ;-) Either that or all the first edition James Branch Cabells.

slcboston

Pasture-ized
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Collectibles of any nature are really dependent on two things: how rare they are, and how much demand there is for them. You can have something that's unique and therefore rare, but if no one's really interested in it there's no market for it.

I'd ask around at a couple of rare book shops or two and go from there, but be prepared for these items to be of mostly sentimental value to you. Unless you get lucky. :D

benbradley

It's a doggy dog world
Registered
Reaction score
A friend of mine just went through his grandfather's and mother's things (they both died ages ago) and discovered a massive cache of books, some antiques, some obviously collectors items. He's wondering how to handle them. He's not a collector and would like to sell any items that would be worth selling. Some of his items include personal notes from authors to his grandfather, who was a Harvard Art/Literature Scholar.