PDA

View Full Version : The most important thing I discovered about myself as a writer in 2007 was...

scarletpeaches
12-30-2007, 11:36 PM
Yes folks; a serious thread from SP - who'd'a thunk it?

I'll start.

The most important thing I discovered about myself as a writer in 2007 was...I'm a YA writer. It was a revelation to me when I finally figured it out. I like to read YA. A lot of what I write didn't quite fit into chick-lit as the protagonists were a bit too young; their life concerns weren't all shoes, jobs and boyfriends...then one day, I realised...I write YA. Everything slotted into place; I'm a YA writer! :D

So. Do tell. What's your big discovery of '07?

Uncarved
12-30-2007, 11:40 PM
My big discovery is that I'm worth more than a few pennies a word. I latched on to some better paying gigs and now have a resolution for the new year in place in regards to my writing. I finally started taking it seriously and wasn't ashamed of my work. That was a HUGE revelation to me.

Next?

mum23
12-30-2007, 11:42 PM
Yes folks; a serious thread from SP - who'd'a thunk it?

I'll start.

The most important thing I discovered about myself as a writer in 2007 was...I'm a YA writer. It was a revelation to me when I finally figured it out. I like to read YA. A lot of what I write didn't quite fit into chick-lit as the protagonists were a bit too young; their life concerns weren't all shoes, jobs and boyfriends...then one day, I realised...I write YA. Everything slotted into place; I'm a YA writer! :D

So. Do tell. What's your big discovery of '07?

My work isn't all about shoes, jobs and boyfriends. What catagory do I fit into then?

jenngreenleaf
12-30-2007, 11:47 PM
I learned A LOT about myself as a writer in 2007. A.Lot.

The most important thing I discovered about myself as a writer in 2007 was that a postive "can do" attitude creates positive results.