Publish America Lawsuits

squirt

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a newbie. I've read some of the posts about Publish America. But, I'm looking for the one that gives information about how to file a lawsuit with them or any Authors out there that have filed a lawsuit with them.

I too am a victim. I've had 2 books published, Sweets and Sweeter Than Sweets by them and my royalty checks are stacking up and now total a little over 10.00! They are too embarrassing to deposit.

I know for a fact that my books are selling. They are ripping me off. When I sent a letter of concern, they responded nicely stating that the bookstores have up to 3 months to pay them. They also advised me not to read or listen to any negative comments that people have to say about them.

Since I've been an Author, I've learned quite a bit. I've learned that I need to do research before I put my trust in a company that's going to accept my work. I've learned that I need to make sure that I'm signing my name to something that is going to make me some money and not make me broke.

So, if there's an Author that has filed a lawsuit or can give me some direction, I'd appreciate it.

benbradley

It's a doggy dog world
Registered
Reaction score
I haven't seen a PA contract (is there a copy online somewhere?), and furthermore, I'm not a lawyer, but from reading other threads here it's my understanding that part of it says you agree to go to arbitration if you have any dispute with PA, and you give up your right to take them to court. I don't know if that makes it flat-out impossible to sue them, but it sure makes it more of an uphill battle.

A few PA authors HAVE gone through arbitration, and you can read through the most recent case in "The Marie Pacha Thread" here:
http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66307

Popeyesays

Now departed. Rest in peace, Scott, from all of us
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score