PDA

View Full Version : Students in Writing

black winged fighter
03-06-2005, 09:41 PM
Hello, my name is bwf, and I am a student. It has been a few days since I last typed.

A question for all those students out there: What is your #1 goal in writing? Have you accomplished it?

More importantly, have you found the time to accomplish it?

alanna
03-07-2005, 04:59 AM
I actually set monthly goals that vary from month to month. They're as small as sending out one submission, up to writing five poems and ten pages in my novel or one short story. It really depends on the mood I'm in. In terms of time- what time? I have time? The commuter rail is my friend- that's where I find the time for most poetry writing. Other than that, weekends and days off, and late nights where I choose writing over sleep. My goal accomplishments vary.

In terms of my biggest goal- to improve my writing- I wasn't aware there was a time frame. I'm in writing for fun first, business second. Period.

-alanna

black winged fighter
03-07-2005, 05:57 AM
In terms of my biggest goal- to improve my writing- I wasn't aware there was a time frame. I'm in writing for fun first, business second. Period.
-alanna

A-men!

If you don't love what you write or write what you love, what's the point? And you're right...I doubt I'll ever stop learning and improving, and that's my biggest goal.

alanna
03-07-2005, 06:02 AM
:)

tjwriter
03-07-2005, 01:51 PM
Last summer, I really found that I missed writing, and began again. That was in the midst of summer courses and an internship.

I graduate with 2 majors this May, and while I will have to find a job to support my household, I really wish I could just take some time out and write. It truly sucks to rediscover something that is so special to you, and be at a point in your life where you cannot pursue it to the fullest.

Until I make something happen with my writing, I will chug away at it, word by word, writing furiously when I can.

Solatium
03-27-2005, 03:20 AM