Status
Not open for further replies.

Kudra

Back and on track
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.TheInternationalFreelancer.com
I posted this on my blog, but figured it needed a mention here as well. In the coming year, let's all practice saying more of the following:

To anyone who asks what you do:
"I'm a writer."

To anyone who asks you to work for free/below market rates:
"I don't take a piss without getting paid!" (Thanks Harlan Ellison!)

To anyone who thinks you're free to do their errands because you work from home:
“I’m sorry, I can’t walk your dog/watch your kids/bake cookies for you. I have very important deadlines.” (And then you disconnect the phone or walk away without further explanation.)

To anyone who thinks you don’t work hard enough for your money:
“Aren’t I lucky? I sit in my pajamas all day and earn obscene amounts of money. I’m truly blessed. How many hours a week do you work?”

To anyone who says they’d write if they had the time:
“Really? Frankly, I’m not sure you’d be able to hack it. You don’t seem the go-getter type.”

To anyone who says you lead a charmed life:
“Yep, I do.” (And you better believe it!)

IceCreamEmpress

Hapless Virago
Registered
Reaction score
Yay!

'Tis the season of holiday small-talk, and I am preparing responses to the "I always wanted to write a novel" people.

So far, my all-time best, to a doctor: "Really? Well, I've always wanted to remove an appendix!"

Arisa81

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
pacificpurple.blogspot.com
lol...love the clever comeback IceCreamPrincess.

Personally, as I commented on your blog Kudra, I need to practice saying "I am a writer" with more conviction. Instead of making it sound like a question and needing approval lol.

I am a writer!

ATP

What happened to my LIFE?!
Registered
Reaction score