What is a blog carnival?

jenngreenleaf

Here to network and learn.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jenngreeenleaf.com
I was *just* wondering the same thing after reading about a Holiday Flash Fiction Carnival. I need to get up to speed on the lingo. :)

valeenc

Still Defiant!
Registered
Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the concept myself even though I wrote for the Flash Fiction Carnivals here at AW five times running. I did some digging and found a couple of useful links:

Blog Carnival website

What Wiki has to say about blog carnivals.

When Ben Solah began the Flash Fiction Carnival, the idea was to have a host present a theme for people to use as the basis for their flash. They can write in any genre as long as it's within whatever length parameters the host sets. The writing time for the carnivals here at AW has been two weeks. When the writers participating are done with their flash, they post it in their blog and send the permalink to the host along with the title and author name. If a writer does not have a blog, they can ask a friend to host their story for them or the blog host if they are amenable. I hosted a number of stories in my blog this month, for example, for the FFC III. Then participating writers read and comment on everyone's stories and everyone gets good feedback and more exposure for their writing and blog.

Ben's theme was BEGINNINGS. Sam's was MADNESS. Mine was TRANSFORM. BunnyGirl likes to host holiday themed flash carnivals in her writing blog. We're on the second one of those now. I'm guessing her next one will be for Valentine's Day. :LilLove:

I think that about covers it, but feel free to ask more questions. I more than likely missed something. :D

:e2cat:

Last edited:

nancy sv

30 months on a bicycle...
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.familyonbikes.com