What's the most important thing about playwriting

Randy Veach

As most of you know I'm new at playwriting. I've written 2 plays, but they haven't been produced (?). So about now your probably asking yourself, with such limited experience, how does he know what's important and what's not. I have a 56 T-Bird and belong to a T-bird chat room, now that is something I know about. I've been a participating member since 2001. Without the help of other members, I never would have got my t-bird running. So I'll tell you very what’s important, participation. That's what it's all about. It seems a lot of people read the chat room, but very few participate. If the few quit answering the threads that are coming in, the chat room for playwrights will close, and people like me will lose a very valuable tool. It doesn’t take much, just a “right-on” every once in a while will do it. If people stop looking at the “play write chat room”, or it is taken away for non use, we all lose. Please don't let that happen.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Uh, right on?

Actually, I've written one play that got a one-time performance, but I don't consider myself a playwright since I'm not working on another.

I regret to say that on this board only, my first few interactions met with silence or disagreement, so that I feel less welcome than on the other boards here. So be it.

Nevertheless, I'd hate to see it fold--there aren't many places for playwrights. Screenwriting boards will let you participate, but they're not really that similar.

Maryn

JustinoXXV

Banned
Reaction score
There is no secret for wanting to get into theatre. Any decent sized city has a small theatre company. Get involved in any of these companies, in any capacity. (even if only a production assistant). The ultimate place for theatre is New York City, considering moving there.

Get out, meet and network people in theatre. Contact theatre companies.

JustinoXXV

Banned