doing all my writing online?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SleuthMonkey

I hope this is the right spot to post this. I hope I am not breaking any rules by mentioning another site. A little background first. I'm not familiar with any of the writing software programs and don't have MS Word. I don't have a dedicated computer that's JUST MINE, but I've got access at work and at home. Additionally, I'm TOTALLY new to all this. So, I joined writing.com to provide a place where I can write, store my stuff and be able to access it from wherever I happen to be. Is this a good move? Has anyone found the site useful? I'd very much like to hear from anyone who has experience. Thanks.

Siddow

I'm super! Thanks for asking
Registered
Reaction score
I think it's a bad move. Read the TOS.

I think a better thing to do is write at home, back-up to email, and open it at work when you have the chance, add to it, and email back.

Later we can groom you on thumb drives, CDs, online storage and the rest.

Oh, and get familiar with a word processor. Word is standard, but for free you can get Open Office which I understand is just as good (and better, by some accounts).

andrewhollinger

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.andrewhollinger.com
I agree.

It feels like your vulnerable if it's stored only online. What if their system crashes?

I'd invest, like Siddow said, in a pen drive--a big one. Nowadays, you can use it on both PC and Mac interchangeably, as long as they both have the same text program.

And I know this is really old fashioned, but I do about 50% or more of my writing (not counting prewriting) on paper. I like holding it and doodling what I hope the reader will see.

Anyway, that's how I would go. A pen drive and a good notebook.

Birol

Around and About
Registered
Reaction score