PDA

View Full Version : Need Inspiration

Mao
12-01-2007, 03:54 PM
I'm a newbie here, so I'm not sure if this is the right place for this...

But I need help getting inspired to write another book. I had a book on dressage (horse riding discipline) published by Half Halt Press a few years ago. It was pretty well-received - although obviously to a very specific audience. Since then, the publisher has asked me a couple times to write another book.

I've toyed with a few ideas, and the publisher even offered a suggestion, but I just come up dry bringing anything to life. The book I wrote - non-fiction/humor - was the culmination of personal experience in the area of dressage riding. I was totally inspired and whipped it out in a few months. It was my first and only attempt at writing a book and I've no formal background or training in writing.

So, I'm wondering if there are formal techniques or strategies I could use? It seems like a wasted opportunity not to pursue this - aside from excuses that I become distracted by the real world - lol!

Any ideas? Thanks!

Fox The Cave
12-01-2007, 05:36 PM
This is going to sound dull, but unfortunately writing is 99% perspiration, 1% inspiration.

If you do happen to get inspired, then great. Unfortunately, you can't just sit around waiting for inspiration to hit. To write another book, you're going to have to just sit down and write another book...it doesn't matter if the idea isn't immediately brilliant, you'll MAKE it brilliant.

Will Lavender
12-01-2007, 05:41 PM
Welcome to a fellow Kentuckian! Love the Paris/Lexington area. Would love to live there one day.