NaNo Trials and Tribulations

Joycecwilliams

Registered
Reaction score
This is my first year participating in NaNo. I just finished today. However while writing my NaNo piece I had several challenges. I am sure other's did also. I thought it would be nice to share obstacles that we over came.

My first obstacle came when my computer crashed. I lost 13,000 of my 23,000 NaNo project.

Then I was without my laptop for 4 days. I borrowed my husbands, and my grandson's to keep on track.

Originally my book was to be about 2 women who turn detectives. One of my main characters is based on a real life friend of mine. However for her to become a detective and take off... her husband had to die. Well I know it's fiction, and you know it's fiction.. but she was frantic and did not want me to make her husband die in the book.

So not only did I have to change the plot at 25,000 words I also had to change the title. Originally the title was "Chic Dicks" now it is "Bruised Fruit." Although I am not sure if I am going to keep that title. Feedback on the title is appreciated.

I am happy I completed NaNo for it taught me that you need to keep your eye on the goal.

Looking forward to hearing other's who had bumps along the way.

joyce

Denryu

The Inevitable Crash
Registered
Reaction score
Website
subsequentvisions.com
Wow. Mine are not nearly as bad as yours.