PDA

View Full Version : what do you think of this....

smnoreen
11-13-2007, 09:53 AM
Hi there!! I am in the process of writng a book on having and raising twins/multiples. When I was pregnant there was little info written by people who had actually had multiples...it was all done by dr's, who had never really had any major experiance with multiples. What are the chances of being able to do this even though I have no credentials. My book would be like "girlfriends guide to pregnancy" for those who have read it. I found that most of the books on the market were useless except for the diet /nutrition part. So what do you think??? Is it doable??

Thanks for all your feedback and info

Steph

jasperd
11-13-2007, 11:27 AM
I'm no professional either but it sounds like a great idea. Especially since there's no market for it yet. Vicki Iovinne (Girlfriends Guide To Pregnancy) is an attorney and a writer. She's not a medical proffesional but she clearly states that in her book. I think it's refreshing to read a book that's written in laymans terms. Good luck!

Mandy-Jane
11-13-2007, 11:38 AM
I guess anything is doable if you're committed enough and do all the right research. But how credible will it be when people realise that (a) you're not a doctor and (b) you have no personal experience with twins or multiples? Unless of course you plan on interviewing people who have had experience.

I hope it works out for you. Good luck.

Lauri B
11-14-2007, 12:40 AM
Hi smnoreen,
I think you'll find that in the last 5 years or so, lots of books about being pregnant with, and raising, multiples have been published. What you'll need to do is find a way to make yours stand out from the others. I agree with Mandy-Jane that you'll have to figure out a way to raise your credibility (being the parent of multiples is definite credibility, but you may need to have a co-author who has an MD, PhD, etc.).
Good luck!

Lavinia
11-14-2007, 02:02 AM