Your Own Author Website

Status
Not open for further replies.

Storyteller5

Say something...
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not really at a point yet where I am thinking about this in any serious way so it's probably a great time to ask. :tongue

At what point did you set up a website of your own?
What did you have on it to start? Have you added much to it since then? :e2writer:

CheshireCat

Mostly purring. Mostly.
Registered
Reaction score
I'm afraid I'm a pre-Internet writer, so my answer would be: When I got around to it. ;)

My feeling these days is that writers can only help themselves with a good website and MySpace page -- and that it's worth the money to have the former professionally designed as soon as you can afford it and/or have more than one book to promote. It gives interested readers a place to go and look for information about you and your work, so they feel more connected to you.

It is sort of a double-edged sword, though. Yes, it's nice to hear almost instantaneously from readers.

But some of them will be writing to say they don't like your work, or the fact that you take the Lord's name in vain, or the fact that your protagonist smokes or drinks ...

III

rockin the suburbs
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jayyoungweb.com
I set mine up right before my first book came out. I only update it once every few months and I don't have a blog, but many of the more serious, successful authors around here have great websites and very active blogs.

Pat~

Luftmensch Emeritus, A.D.D.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I set mine up about 2 years ago, and use it mainly as a 'clip repository' of published work for prospective editors (the website is in my letterhead).