The Real Charlie Brown

talkwrite

Passion in full bloom
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.linguisticworld.com
Yes - a very revealing look into the true life of the man behind the dog. Apparently all those years as a child while I curled up reading the Peanuts strip religiously I was being exposed to the innermost demons of a very depressed man.

kdnxdr

One of the most important people in the world
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
steadydrip.blogspot.com
I had an interesting experience this week. I'm a preschool teacher and have a class of young 3 year-old children. For the past week or so, one of my students had become progressively more negative in his talking and in his behavior. Even his countenance has become more negatively pronounced.

During this period he has shared tidbits he has picked up from watching various Charlie Brown movies; the halloween program and several others.
He has taken to yelling as loud and he can the word "No" in response to different activities.

Thursday, when asked to pick up his toys and prepare to go eat lunch, he began yelling "No", he did not want to put up his toys. When it was time to transition from the room to the lunchroom area, I took his toys and put them on the shelf. In response, he screamed as loud and ferouciously as he possibly could, "I'm going to KILL you!".

While discussing the incident with his mother, she speculated that there was a possibility that he had picked up his yelling no and the "I'm going to KILL you" messages from Peanuts. His mom said that Lucy used that kind of language in the program.

I thought it was an interesting coincidence in light of what I have been reading of "the dark side" of Peanuts.

JLCwrites

Registered
Reaction score