PDA

View Full Version : good nonfiction writing books

determined2finish
02-23-2005, 07:39 AM
Hi everyone,
As a novice nonfiction writer I would like to read some books on nonfiction writing (ie structure and style, not proposals). Can anyone suggest some helpful titles?

Thanks!

Betty W01
02-23-2005, 08:24 AM
I really liked Feminine Wiles, by Donna Boetig. She tells you how to structure, do leads and endings, use quotes, and come up with ideas (among other things) for women's magazine articles. I also liked a book called Writing Creative Non-Fiction, by Cheney (not the VP <grin>) and Writing Articles About the World Around You, by Marcia Yudkin.

Greenwolf103
02-23-2005, 12:09 PM
I can't think of any right now but I'm curious: Are you looking for books on writing nonfiction books or on writing nonfiction period, like articles, essays and such?

determined2finish
02-23-2005, 04:59 PM
Betty: thank you for the suggestions! I'll look them up on Amazon

Greenwolf103: I realize I should clarify my request...I am looking for books on how to write nonfiction books. It seems that so many emphasize the proposal, the agent vs. editor, etc. but so few have any in depth content on the actual structure and writing. Any suggestions are appreciated!!!

Thanks, again.

Sassenach
02-23-2005, 06:14 PM
by James Stewart, Pultizer winner and former Wall Street Journal editor.

ritinrider
02-23-2005, 07:52 PM
Good question Determined. That's one reason I love this place. I can learn all kinds of stuff I didn't even think to ask about.

Nita

Pat~
02-24-2005, 06:38 PM
Here are 3 of my favorite books on writing (and I'm a nonfiction writer as well):

1. ***The First Five Pages, by Noah Lukeman. Awesome book, very readable and less than 200 pp. Talks about style, showing vs. telling, hooks, tone, pacing and progression, and esp. about the importance of the first 5 pages.