Query Letter.

Cathie71

Hello,

I am a novice when it comes to query letters. I am writing a YA fiction book. I will be writing a query letter to agents in a few short weeks. My question to you is what is the best way to end a query letter when you can't write an author's bio because you don't have any experience or publications to write about?

Thank you for your time,
Cathie

victoriastrauss

Writer Beware Goddess
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.victoriastrauss.com
Cathie71 said:
My question to you is what is the best way to end a query letter when you can't write an author's bio because you don't have any experience or publications to write about?
If you have no publications, and your life or work experience isn't relevant to your book, don't say anything. Credentials are great if you have them, but new writers aren't penalized for not having them.

Just end the letter with something like "Thanks for your consideration, and I look forward to hearing from you."

- Victoria

Cathie71

Thanks

Victoria,

Thank you for your response. I have another question for you if you don't mind? Is it better to query one agent at a time or multiple agents? I knew breaking into the writing field was going to be tough but boy there is a lot more to it than people think.

Thank you for your time,
Cathie

victoriastrauss

Writer Beware Goddess
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.victoriastrauss.com
Cathie71 said:
Is it better to query one agent at a time or multiple agents?
If you query one agent at a time you will be old and gray by the time you find representation. Many publishers discourage simultaneous submissions, but with agents, multiple queries are the norm. Most people seem to send queries out in manageable batches of 10-15, starting with the agents they'd most like to have represent them.