PDA

View Full Version : Displaying text with a website link in Signature



melaniehoo
11-02-2007, 03:13 AM
I have my blog in my signature, obviously. Is there a way to change the words that appear but keep the link correct? I'd like to have the name of the blog listed, not the actual blogspot address.

Help please?

Uncarved
11-02-2007, 03:14 AM
<a href="YOUR WEBSITE ADDY HERE">WORDS YOU WANT TO SHOW HERE </a>

scarletpeaches
11-02-2007, 03:15 AM
When you're composing your signature, write it as you want it to appear. Then highlight the name of your blog. Click on the 'insert link' logo that looks like a globe, and paste the link to your blog. Tis how I did it. :D

melaniehoo
11-02-2007, 03:23 AM
Tina, that didn't turn out so well for me, but Scarlet, that did!

Thanks for the help!

Fahim
11-02-2007, 04:50 AM
<a href="YOUR WEBSITE ADDY HERE">WORDS YOU WANT TO SHOW HERE </a>

You can't insert HTML tags into vBulletin posts and signatures. You need to use BBcode instead :)

melaniehoo
11-02-2007, 04:56 AM
I got it to work using the globe-link button Scarlet mentioned. For a brief moment my signature was full of code. How embarassing!

Tuuli
10-13-2009, 06:29 PM
When you're composing your signature, write it as you want it to appear. Then highlight the name of your blog. Click on the 'insert link' logo that looks like a globe, and paste the link to your blog. Tis how I did it. :D

Thanks Scarlet. :D

Ingvanye
01-22-2011, 03:03 AM
Thanks Scarlet, worked for me too. Codes were alien to me until two days ago, and I'm just finding my way around the [I]very[I] easy ones. Erk....

Dreamspree
04-23-2011, 06:44 AM
Ingvanye:

Love the guns 'n fairy images. How did you do that?

Dreamspree
04-23-2011, 06:52 AM
Never have used code before. Wanted to see if this worked for me.

Dreamspree
04-23-2011, 06:57 AM
Okay, that didn't work. Am trying again. I just found this image of rainbow roses which made grin because I have rainbow roses in my book.
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://i3.glitter-graphics.org/pub/204/204253kfi2a9aer3.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.glitter-graphics.com/graphics/98603&usg=__Je_r6zE4XNF0o8oAN1xdhZbtnl4=&h=360&w=450&sz=138&hl=en&start=106&sig2=nTtn2QS_4gG9c3WhZdWGxg&zoom=1&tbnid=5HPfhaSRo5E99M:&tbnh=112&tbnw=154&ei=kT-yTZGRBonQsAOx8dzqCw&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dglitter%2Bgraphics%26hl%3Den%26biw%3D 1030%26bih%3D561%26gbv%3D2%26tbm%3Disch0%2C2860&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=626&vpy=120&dur=382&hovh=162&hovw=203&tx=116&ty=115&page=7&ndsp=16&ved=1t:429,r:14,s:106&biw=1030&bih=561

Dreamspree
04-23-2011, 06:59 AM
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://i3.glitter-graphics.org/pub/204/204253kfi2a9aer3.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.glitter-graphics.com/graphics/98603&usg=__Je_r6zE4XNF0o8oAN1xdhZbtnl4=&h=360&w=450&sz=138&hl=en&start=106&sig2=nTtn2QS_4gG9c3WhZdWGxg&zoom=1&tbnid=5HPfhaSRo5E99M:&tbnh=112&tbnw=154&ei=kT-yTZGRBonQsAOx8dzqCw&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dglitter%2Bgraphics%26hl%3Den%26biw%3D 1030%26bih%3D561%26gbv%3D2%26tbm%3Disch0%2C2860&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=626&vpy=120&dur=382&hovh=162&hovw=203&tx=116&ty=115&page=7&ndsp=16&ved=1t:429,r:14,s:106&biw=1030&bih=561 Was told the way to use AW was to keep trying until you got it write..:-)

backslashbaby
04-23-2011, 07:00 AM
Do you have this under USER CP ---> Edit Signature

"Upload Signature Picture You may upload a new custom image using the controls below."


It might be a number of posts thing if you don't.

Dreamspree
04-23-2011, 07:00 AM
http://www.glitter-graphics.com/graphics/98603

Dreamspree
04-23-2011, 07:03 AM
Do you have this under
Back:

USER CP ---> Edit Signature

"Upload Signature Picture You may upload a new custom image using the controls below."


It might be a number of posts thing if you don't.

Yeah, I don't have that yet, and the BB code for images isn't working. I guess I'll have to post more.

thanks for your help!

backslashbaby
04-23-2011, 07:07 AM
You're welcome :) I don't remember how many posts it takes, but it wasn't too bad.

alleycat
04-23-2011, 07:43 AM
I actually didn't know there was a post count requirement to put an image in a signature (obviously I haven't had to worry about it for some time).

I'll ask the forum administrators if that's true.

Medievalist
04-23-2011, 08:30 AM
There's no restriction on sig images tied to post count.

Are you attempting to upload or link to an image in your sig?

How large a file is the image?

alleycat
04-23-2011, 08:34 AM
There's no restriction on sig images tied to post count.

Are you attempting to upload or link to an image in your sig?

How large a file is the image?
I thought that was true, but she says she doesn't see the "upload image" part of Edit Signature, which I found odd.

I wonder if she's just not looking in the right place.

Medievalist
04-23-2011, 08:41 AM
Yeah, I don't have that yet, and the BB code for images isn't working. I guess I'll have to post more.

thanks for your help!

You need to go to your User CP.

Click "Edit Signature" on the left, under the "Settings and Options" heading.

Use "Option 2" and upload a small image from your computer.

jkellerford
04-25-2011, 04:39 PM
When you're composing your signature, write it as you want it to appear. Then highlight the name of your blog. Click on the 'insert link' logo that looks like a globe, and paste the link to your blog. Tis how I did it. :D


Thanks, Scarletpeaches! This helped a lot!

Sullivan Lee
06-02-2011, 04:41 PM
Is there a way to display a photo from your computer, not through a web link?
I see Edit Signature, but no option 2. A link on the header says Upload Picture, but only gives a website option, as far as I can see. Of course, I'm notoriously dense about certain things...

Sullivan Lee
06-02-2011, 04:47 PM
Ah, wait, down at the bottom under permission it says:

"Can Upload Images for Signature: No"

So maybe there is a post-number requirement?

Medievalist
06-02-2011, 07:46 PM
You can link to an image in your Sig, but not upload them.

Use a site like Photobucket to host the image; link to it in your Signature.