PDA

View Full Version : Wildly varying feedback??

angieMK
10-29-2007, 07:51 AM
I often read here, but I just signed up because now I gotta post. :) I've been working on my nonfiction masterpiece for almost 2 years now, and I've been sending out the queries left and right this year.

Here's the problem, and though I've read through some of the archives I don't see this specific question here. (Although I'm sure it's been asked!)

I'm sitting at 50 agents queried, with 10 asking for the proposal. Of those 10, only 1 offered representation so far. (Yes, I signed with him, only to have him lose interest the week afterwards and only submit to a small handful of publishers. I wasted a good 6 months with that agent - but that's for another thread.)

Of the 9 rejections of my full proposal, I'm not getting anything similar as far as reason for rejection. I have platform problems, is my best guess. (yes I've read all the threads on platform too ha ha!)

Here are some of the comments I'm getting:

1. "Get some 'BIG NAMES' behind you and we'll be in business"
2. "Love it - but you need to write an article for TIME magazine first, to get some exposure." (this is hysterical because I have no writing credits)
3. "I don't think publishers will feel compelled to publish it."
4. "I'm scared by the legal issues that might surround this."
5. "It's hard to categorize"
6. "It's too 'negative'"

and then there are the agents who read my full proposal and sent me a form rejection with no explanation at all, or the ones who requested my proposal and never bothered to send me a rejection - just silence.

So what do y'all think? Is it one of the above, all of the above, none of the above, or is my book a schizophrenic mess?

I'm torn. Is the standard advice to just query 100 agents and see how many differing opinions you can collect?? As Miss Snark likes to say, I feel like "setting my hair on fire".

(and hello to everyone - sorry to leap out from lurkdom like this)

aka eraser