Oh, Crap. Now I'm a Teacher?

melaniehoo

And thus we begin the edits
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.melaniehoo.com
A week or so ago my husband came home and announced I'd be giving private English lessons. Panic ensued, I posted here for advice, and by Monday morning I was ready.

No one showed up.

Last night my husband came home from class and informed me the director of his school handed him a lesson book and said I start teaching class on Monday. Come again? A few weeks ago he told me they were looking for an English teacher but I said I'm not ready to teach a roomful of students, so tell the director thanks anyway. Well, they never had that conversation.

Now I'm a teacher. *bangs head on desk*

At least they gave me a book and I have the weeked to prepare, but it seems strange that I didn't have an interview, I don't know what I'll be paid, I don't know what to wear, oh, and I don't have a work permit. Hahahahahahahaha. What can go wrong?

Side note - I'll be teaching the first-year class in a two-year school. My husband is in the second level, so I can already imagine them asking me to teach his class next. Payback is hell!!

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm rarely at a loss for words.

This is not one of those times. They can't make you teach if you choose not to, of course, but it sounds like you're allowing yourself to be roped into it.

Okay, so you've got this book, and not one damned thing beyond it, including a contractual obligation. Use the book as a Bible, or a guideline, or a doorstop. It's entirely your call.

What to wear? Teacher clothes. Comfortable, mom-inspired professional will do until you see what others are wearing. No need to look especially attractive or like an executive professional. (Leave the high heels at home.)