PDA

View Full Version : 100% rejections for non-fiction book, but not sure why! How do I get answers?

nancyadams
10-22-2007, 04:48 AM
I'm curious. I have a strong platform via a website with an international reach and wide interest. I'm not a professional writer, but have writing skills. I've reworked my query four times to what I think is very good. I've had 6 bites. Yet, my score is 100 to 0....in favor of the rejections. And I have no idea why!! I've asked--no response.

How does a person find out? I ponder: Is it because there are already books out on the subject? Are my writing skills not up to par? Do they think there's not a large enough market (even though there is and I present statistics)?

:Shrug:How do I find out why I keep getting rejections?

Nancy

bookfreakguy
10-22-2007, 05:00 AM
These are rejections from agents or publishers?

nancyadams
10-22-2007, 05:06 AM
These are rejections from agents or publishers?

Agents: 98%

JoNightshade
10-22-2007, 05:09 AM
Nancy, what's your website traffic like? I'm wondering if you might be quoting a number that sounds big to you but just isn't big enough that it would be significant to agents.

veinglory
10-22-2007, 05:10 AM
If the email rejections were vague you might try a follow up just asking for some expert hints on what you could improve.

K1P1
10-22-2007, 05:11 AM
Have you gotten someone knowledgeable, that you trust, to review and critique your query letter? Or posted it in Share Your Work for comments?

nancyadams
10-22-2007, 05:25 AM
Nancy, what's your website traffic like? I'm wondering if you might be quoting a number that sounds big to you but just isn't big enough that it would be significant to agents.