I'm Too Freaking Honest Sometimes...What would you do? Be Honest!!

Sunkissed27f

Banned
Reaction score
I ordered a book at a on-line book store on Oct. 3rd.
I hit the pay with card option.
Laddeedeah ...filled out the info...and I hit accept/make payment button when I was done.

So a day later I get an email.
Sorry, your payment is denied the book will be put back up for sale.

Like hell-to-the-no...it won't!!

See I have a military Master Card...so some places HATE it.
Won't let me use it because it's not like a Master Card credit card....and it's not like a bank Visa card.

So I go back re-order...hit pay with check.
They said the bookseller would contact me on when and how to do the check.

I wait....I wait....2...3..4..days.

Last night I finally sent an email asking when I will be contacted with the info to make payment.

I was then sent an email saying the bookseller would contact me.
I wait...and FINALLY today at 1PM I get an email that said this:

Thank you so much for your honesty! We did not notice that you selected pay by check and assumed that you had used a credit card to pay for the book. We already mailed out the book on the 4th. Please mail a check for $** to:
Blah blah blah
Thank you.

So.....if my patience would have held out I would have gotten the book for free.....BUT I assume there are ways for them to figure out my payment was never made.

In the long run a free book would have been nice, but in the short of it...I am not a thief I would have felt ubber crappy about it.
Especially when it was a book I had really wanted!
And it isn't supposed to be out until February.
Plus..it's an AW members book.
That would have been so WRONG of me!

What would you have done if you got a book you hadn't paid for yet in the mail...and the company thought you did?

TrainofThought

A flowering bud of bitchiness
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.authordenisebaer.com