I made a BIG mistake . . .

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnjohn

Registered
Reaction score
I'm a first time author (non-fiction) and I went through the whole process backwards. I wrote the manuscript first and now I'm looking for an agent.

This wasn't the mistake I made, though. In an effort to make sure I have all my facts right, I printed up 20 to 30 books and sent them to people to review. One of my books might have landed into the hands of a competitor, and now I'm wondering what can I do to make sure my work is copyrighted and protected? I've spent three years on this book and the last thing I want is someone stealing it. Unlikely? Yes. Possible? Absolutely.

Soccer Mom

Crypto-fascist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Honey, if there are 30 copies of your ms out there and everyone knows it was written by you, how on earth could it be stolen? It's not like competitor can try to pass it off as his.

Deep breath.

Oh, and :welcome:

underthecity

Finestkind
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.allensedge.com
You shouldn't have a whole lot to worry about. Your work is copyrighted the moment you typed the words. Copyright protection isn't necessary for yourself. If your competitor does indeed steal your work, then you'll have to get a lawyer and take him to court. In court you can prove with your computer records and whatever printer you used to print your books that you wrote the book first. Hopefully it doesn't come to that.

Now, regarding the first issue you raised. There is nothing wrong with writing the book first then seeking a publisher. It's kind of how I did my first book (see my avatar). Once you find your agent or publisher, there might be an issue regarding the 20 to 30 pre-printed copies of your book floating around out there. You'll have to notify the agent because it's possible he could accidentally come across one of those copies somehow and wonder what the hell it is.