How long does a 1200w article take you to write?

machlynn

Registered
Reaction score
OK, I know it sounds stupid. The good news is I've had tremendous success over the last 9 months and have published 15 articles in local papers and regional mags. I'd like to start contacting bigger pubs.
However, I'm at a crossroads. It takes me FOREVER to complete each article (research, interviews, writing, cutting my article in half 'cause I'm seriously over on words, etc.) and I don't think it's even profitable anymore. I'm fairly organized, so I'm not sure that's it. Maybe 10-15 hours an article is normal :)
Before I stash away my writing pen, I pose this question to you pros: How long does it typically take you --start to finish -- for a 1200 word article (as an example). Is there a magic formula (hours per word count) to use as a target?
Thanks in advance!

Thump

defying grabbity
Registered
Reaction score
Spending one short day in the Emerald City
I'm not an expert but my guess is the more you do it, the faster you'll be at it. You'll also get used to doing things closer to right the first time as well as more concise.

Practice, practice, practice?

machlynn

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks for your reply... I thought I would be quicker and concise by now... but it hasn't seemed to get easier.

Featurewriter

hoarse whisperer
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bymichaelriley.com
ROI

ROI: Return On Investment

It's tough to predict ROI when you're first starting out in this or any other venture. You mentioned writing for local papers (which usually pay next to nothing) and regional mags. My experience with both is that I can't afford to write for those types of publications because the ROI, after even minimal expenses, can be less than minimum wage.

There are too many variables to answer your question the way it's posed. It's not about article length. It's about the many factors that go into a given article ... and no two are ever alike.