PDA

View Full Version : resources / reflections on productivity

ATP
09-16-2007, 10:22 AM
[ I checked the archives - time management, performance, productivity, organisation - and only one or two posts touched on the issue].

I think we all would agree that writing productivity is dependent on the number of priorities which fill our daily lives: regular day job vs. writing full-time, kids at home or school etc.

However, as a full-time NF writer, I have found that in relation to productivity, a general pattern can be discerned. In some ways, this helps lighten the burden and accompanying stress.

Many claims are made to maintain a regular work schedule, and word production rate/day. For novelists, the latter part holds true;less so for
f-t NF writers.

The technique which I find that works best is to list everything you wish to achieve for the year. Then, break this down further into 4 quarters of three months each, and slot your wishes/objectives into one of these quarters. You can revise them as necessary.

This is used in conjunction with your diary. In the diary, you list your daily tasks, and perhaps as far as into the following week. I list by daily approximates - morning and afternoon. After completion of the task,
I place a tick against it; where it hasn't been completed, I place an "X" beside the entry.

In order to try and avoid creating too much stress within yourself, you list only about 3-4 tasks per day.Some days you'll do more, and other days, something will always come along and take a lot more time than you had initially planned, and so disrupt the day's plans. In this case, you try and carry forward the tasks not completed that day into the next. Some days this will work, and others not. Depending on the priority, or circumstance, a task might be completed 2,3,4 weeks later.That's fine.