PDA

View Full Version : E-mail options

Arisa81
09-14-2007, 10:57 PM
Okay, so I went into my hotmail acount yesterday only to be forced into the new windows live hotmail...can I just say yuck! Not only do I find the whole thing quite ugly, but I prefer to have my e-mails listed oldest at the top, newest at the bottom. Impossible with this one. I change it and the next time I go to my inbox it has reverted right back. This is not an e-mail account I think I can live with.

I have a google account, which I've never actually used. I've just held onto it in case I ever needed it. I am seriously thinking of switching over.

What a hassle this is going to be if I decide to switch, I've been using my hotmail address for about 6 years now. How, as freelancers, do we possibly get our new address out to everyone? Of course for people we work with regularly, no problem. E-mail them and let them know. I know I will have to hold onto my hotmail address for quite a while before things settle.

A couple questions for you:
1. Your favourite e-mail provider
2. Tips on switching over as gracefully as possible, if you've in fact had to do this before.

KTC
09-14-2007, 10:59 PM
Oh no. You were forced! I keep ignoring it...I like hotmail the way it is and my son has the Live one and I hate it. I was hoping I wouldn't one day be forced. Don't tell me it's so!

Arisa81
09-14-2007, 11:02 PM
I was ignoring it too...and then yesterday....:(
I actually had tried it before and they allowed you to switch back, but I don't see that option anymore. I should look harder, in case.

KTC
09-14-2007, 11:03 PM
I hope you do find it. Live is horrid.

DamaNegra
09-14-2007, 11:04 PM
Actually, gmail has an option to redirect all the mails that arrive at another account towards your gmail accound, so you'd still be able to use your hotmail account through the gmail interface. I'm... not sure how it works, and I think this topic would be better off in the tech board.

JoNightshade
09-14-2007, 11:04 PM