Insulin-dependent Type 2 diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

CaroGirl

Living the dream
Registered
Reaction score
Does anyone here have insulin-dependent Type 2 diabetes? I'm interested in knowing how you administer insulin, frequency, what the medication options are, diet, and general lifestyle changes required to manage the condition.

johnnysannie

Banned
Reaction score
Website
leeannsontheimermurphywriterauthor.blogspot.com
I am no expert but my husband was diagnosed last year (2006) with Type I diabetes so I know a little.

In his case - and I believe also in Type II - a lot depends on diet (less carbs, more leafy green veggies, no sugar) and excercise and body size. The blood sugar numbers make a lot of different in whether or not medication is prescribed or not and how much.

In the year plus since being diagnosed, my husband has been able to reduce his medication - Metformin, not insulin (he has never had to take insulin) from three times daily to two.

CaroGirl

Living the dream
Registered
Reaction score
I am no expert but my husband was diagnosed last year (2006) with Type I diabetes so I know a little.

In his case - and I believe also in Type II - a lot depends on diet (less carbs, more leafy green veggies, no sugar) and excercise and body size. The blood sugar numbers make a lot of different in whether or not medication is prescribed or not and how much.

In the year plus since being diagnosed, my husband has been able to reduce his medication - Metformin, not insulin (he has never had to take insulin) from three times daily to two.
Thanks for the info. How does he administer the dose of Metformin? Is it in pill form? If he feels ill, can he take one to quickly normalize his blood sugar, or is it more of a maintenance drug?

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score