Status
Not open for further replies.

PeeDee

Where's my tea, please...?
Registered
Reaction score
Website
peterdamien.com
1) How many of you are full-time authors? As in, that's your job?

2) What was the biggest adjustment you had to make when you went from rest of the world to world in my head. And I mean aside from not having to wear pants?

3) In hindsight, what advice do you offer up to someone who's just gone full-time?

If those are pointed questions (and they're real, I'd love answers), it's because as of Tuesday the 11th of September, I no longer have a day job. I am a full-time writer and stay-at-home dad (for loads of complicated reasons).

It's a bit alarming. The trick now is to make enough money writing to make this not seem like a horrible idea. THe most alarming part, though, is thinking for years "If I were a full-time writer, I'd be able to do THIS well, I'd be able to sell THIS much," and then have chance and fate come along and say "Oh yeah? Here you go. Prove it."

Merry

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a full-time writer, but, good luck! (Especially as you're a stay-at-home dad as well - two jobs!)

popmuze

Last of a Dying Breed
Registered
Reaction score
I've been a full time writer at various times, including now, for the last year or so. One of the big fantasy questions you get to answer is: what great projects or assignments did I miss out on because I was too busy with my full time day job and unable to have the time or the energy to compete for it?
Often, the answer is very disturbing.
Like, none of the above.
However, depending on your need for immediate income, the pleasures can be immense (once the kids are out of the way, napping, in school, necking in the next room).
I once wrote a novel in three months working on it every day, all day. And it was published.