Young Writers

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrownCowKapow

Hi! Its my first time posting! =) Long time lurker, though. First off I'd like to thank this board for being very insightful into many writing tasks, and I would also like to thank all the little people...

I have a question...
How should young writers like myself start out? I'm 15, a freshmen in highschool, avid reader/writer (as cliched as that sounds), and I'd really like to find some way to break into the feild (after obviously honing my skils big time!) Is there any easy way to do this as a minor? Can I submit writing just like anyone else, or will editors mark me off just as a minor? Is there any different approach to writing when I'm younger?
I would really like to be a novel writer, but from all the advice I hear, its better to work with short stories first. I know the two mediums are pretty different, but I would like to hone this skill more...

Any tips? =)
Thanks a lot for the help!

~JOSH

aka eraser

You'd do what any writer of any age would do Josh: write, polish, study markets and submit. The only time your age should come into play is if/when you're offered a contract. At that point you'd most likely need a parent/guardian to sign or co-sign it.

I wouldn't mention your age in a cover letter. I think it's more apt to jaundice an editor's eye regarding the submission than pique his/her curiousity.

Welcome to the boards and good luck.

maestrowork

Write a lot. Read a lot. Join a writing group. Take writing classes. Write a lot. Read a lot. Repeat.

Oh yeah, and study the market if you want to get published.

MissKathyClarke