First Rejection! Boo hoo!

Status
Not open for further replies.

WendyNYC

fiddle-dee-dee
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a brand-new newbie and received my first rejection for my first piece in the mail today. It wasn't unexpected and I'm sure there are many more to come, but my skin hasn't reached the required degree of thickness just yet.

So I just wanted to whine to someone. Thanks for listening. Carrying on now.

Calla Lily

On hiatus
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.aliceloweecey.net
Stop what you're doing and pour a glass of your preferred beverage and toast yourself! You've accomplished more than most--you finished a piece and sent it out. Congratulations and welcome to the club. :D

Now--send it out again!

WendyNYC

fiddle-dee-dee
Registered
Reaction score
Aw, thanks. It does feel good to be writing again, after doing the stay-at-home mommy thing for so long.

HopelessDreamer

Registered
Reaction score
Try not to get discouraged! I remember when my first rejection came about a year ago. I thought that my ms was great and any agent would be crazy not to pick it up. I certainly learned my lesson. I opened the letter only to find that they had sent me a form rejection on a laminated card. I'll admit it: I cried. It certainly woke me up to the reality of the world of literary agents.

It gets easier; don't worry! At this point, I find myself opening rejections, thinking, "Oh well..." and forgetting all about that particular one. Just don't lose hope and keep sending out those queries!

WendyNYC

fiddle-dee-dee
Registered
Reaction score
I'll take solace in the fact that my second piece has opened to RAVE reviews.

Of course, it's written for my daughters and bound with purple construction paper and staples, but it will make an excellent addition to their libraries.

Southern_girl29

Registered
Reaction score
I'll take solace in the fact that my second piece has opened to RAVE reviews.