Does your family believe in you?

Status
Not open for further replies.

misswriter

Registered
Reaction score
I may not be that great of a writer (I hope I am), and I know my dad wouldn't like my stuff if I let him read it (he only likes nonfiction) but today we were discussing my future, because that's all my parents ever talk about. My dad asked me what I wanted to major in, and I said creative writing. So then he said, rather nastily, "What are you going to do for food when none of your books sell?" He's usually not a nasty man, by the way. In fact, he's usually really supportive. But he's also a very practical man, and thinks that money is the most important thing. It's not that he
thinks I'm a bad writer, having never read my writing. So my question to you is, do your parents, spouse, children, etc. support your writing?

melaniehoo

And thus we begin the edits
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.melaniehoo.com
I applaud you for following your dreams!

My family has always supported me and helped me a lot when I was entering college & trying to choose a major. I avoided an english/writing major out of fear. I'm a graphic designer by day because I was afraid to put myself out there as a writer, and only now, 14 years later, am I going back to those writing dreams.

Your dad is probably (hopefully) expressing concern that you'll be able to eat, pay the rent, that sort of thing. Parents can be protective that way. :)

Good luck!

Azraelsbane

Agony is defeat
Registered
Reaction score
In front of the Almighty, on the wrong side of the
Website
www.granitewindstarr.com
When I was growing up, no. Not in my writing at least. I was to be the best athlete on the face of the Earth, and the smartest person too, but writing was what people did if they wanted to end up begging on the street for money (an actual line from my mother when I was 9 and came home saying I wanted to be a writer).