PDA

View Full Version : The Aaland Agency / The Abacus Group (Jo Ann Krueger)

txgerman1
03-28-2004, 07:38 AM
The Abacus Group Lit agency in CA is offering me representation, however they have also given me what seems to be some very logical advice on rewriting the ms to make it more commercial......all at a steep price of $4500.

Yes, I read these treads, and realize that this sounds pretty darn fishy. I'm holding onto my wallet tightly, however I was amazed by the fact that they did in fact seem to have read the ms, and actually did rewrite some passages for me.

Any thoughts....I am a newbie here?:\

vstrauss
03-28-2004, 07:42 AM
Writer Beware has gotten a number of complaints about the Abacus Group. Its main, if not its only, source of income appears to be the editing fees, and the insanely voluminous materials it sends out to authors are somewhat personalized but otherwise identical. As far as I know, it has zero track record. It does list some "sales" but all seem to be to vanity/self-publishing operations like 1st Books or to book producers like Morris Publishing.

- Victoria

Dancre
03-28-2004, 08:06 AM
Hey, i've got an idea, you send me $4500 and i'll edit your story! :heart
kim

James D Macdonald
03-28-2004, 09:40 AM
Heck, I'll edit it for an even three grand.

emeraldcite
03-28-2004, 11:29 AM
i'll do it for 2500.

txgerman1
03-28-2004, 01:46 PM
Cmon now, you guys can do better than that?
I wont bite till the editing fee is below $1000:tongue

Seriously though, I was amazed at the size of the reply. It appeared that they really had put some thought and effort into it, and in fact they made their point well.
However this can simply mean that they work hard to read the first chapter or two, then do some real actual editing, and show their prowess.....in hopes of hooking an aspiring author. Their rewrite was actually quite good.......and boy were they complimentary on the material itself.

Ok, do I hear $500?????

Frank