Proper time for profanity?

melaniehoo

And thus we begin the edits
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.melaniehoo.com
I'm new to the LSW game and I'm stuck on when to use profanity. I've been attempting to keep it clean, but there are some stories that just need the F word for full impact. So far I've included it once and it's jarring. (I can easily add more to solve that problem).

Words of advice? My biggest hurdle is that it's my story I'm telling, so it's me doing all the swearing. I'm not a particularly vulgar person, but we all have our moments. :)

johnrobison

A Free Range Aspergian
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.johnrobison.com
I think you should start by writing things as you'd say them, and go from there.

If the result is moderate, leave it alone.

If the result is so vile and disgusting that outlaw bikers would cringe, it needs moderation.

Tymolee

Registered
Reaction score
I agree with Johnrobinson on this one... Write it down and edit if necessary.

I have to add, when I write LSW if I'm cursing like a sailor for one reason or another, I may just write that I cursed like a sailor rather than putting down exactly what I said...

For example, if I stubbed a toe or something, I'll write "I stubbed my toe and spit out a few choice words that would make my gram blush if she heard me." That sort of thing. Rather than "That F-ing stupid... blah blah blah".

Of course, my LSW is more or less related to humorous stories about my kid, so cursing is kept to a minimum for more impact... but I can see how in other LSW it would be appropriate to have a lot of cursing.

melaniehoo

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.melaniehoo.com
if I'm cursing like a sailor for one reason or another, I may just write that I cursed like a sailor rather than putting down exactly what I said...

That's what I did at first at it but it lost some impact. Here's the line in question:

I whirled on him. "I am so sick of you treating me like a f--king prostitute!"