PDA

View Full Version : Saying Goodbye

calendula-witch
08-25-2007, 01:47 AM
What are the protocols for ending a relationship with an agent, if there are still manuscripts on submission with editors? My agency agreement says that either of us can end the relationship with 30 days notice, but it doesn't address outstanding manuscripts. Do I write the editors and let them know to contact me directly, while I search for new representation? And what if (heaven forbid) someone should want to make an offer during the 30 day period?

I'm going to give my agent a bit more time, but I just feel that he doesn't have the contacts and experience to make a sale--or (so far, after a bunch of months) to even get the editors to read my manuscript. So I'm about ready to move on.

Thanks!

Manat
08-25-2007, 05:02 PM
I'm no expert and likely you'll have an answer from someone with more experience, but it's my understanding that your current agent is the agent of record for any outstanding submissions if he's the one that sent them out, and if a sale is made from those submissions he will collect his percentage etc. as per the original agreement. After you've given him notice through registered mail and severed the relationship any new manuscripts would presumably go though a new agent, but I doubt a new agent would be able to represent your old manuscript unless and until all outstanding submissions from the old one had been answered. I think you're supposed to ask your current agent what, if any submissions are outstanding, tell him not to send any more, and try to get an answer on the outstanding ones when you inform him you've decided to end the relationship, before you send it anywhere else.

Good luck with it all.

larocca
08-25-2007, 05:06 PM