• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

[Publicity] Substance Books

Marva

Registered
Reaction score
Maybe this should be in Bewares since I'm asking if anybody knows anything about this company.

www.substancebooks.com

They sent me an email saying my book could be "accepted" if I subbed it.

They say they're a book promoter. They cost $120USD per year and claim to get your book publicity.

Any experience with these people?

blackpen

Bizzare in Berkeley
Registered
Reaction score
i went to the site and happened to see that one of the authors that uses their services happens to be self published. i think should ring some warning bells, altho i am by no means an expert on this.

as a general rule, i would avoid such online book promoting companies that want you to pay them. if you want to publicize, you should send out press statements, do book signings, make a website, and hold book launch parties. all of these things cost money and effort in some way or the other, but you're not giving a direct sum to a middleman who can't guarantee results.

i would also ask in the beware forum.

good luck

imagoodgurl4

Attack!
Registered
Reaction score
I have no experience with them, but I took a look at the website. The website seems legit. It has proper grammar and spelling and lists authors to whom they've helped. And the $120 fee they charge for a year does not seem unreasonable. And if they wanted to rip someone off, they could do it for a lot more. But, it seems like this service would be more useful for PA books or POD books, which this company does accept, which is also a bit of a concern, because PA books are not usually edited correctly and very often poorly written. Granted, the company has an "acceptance" policy, but who knows how well organized that is. PA claims to have an acceptance policy. Plus, a book published by a legitimate publisher would not need this company, as the publisher would do all the marketing for you.