Status
Not open for further replies.

NemoBook

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.TheInstrumentMovie.com
Hey,
I'm a published fiction writer and filmmaker and recently went to San Diego's Comic-Con to approach editors about an original graphic novel property I've created.

I had a sample packet with a synopsis, 7 pages of sample artwork, script pages, etc. And I've got a friend in the business who was kind enough to introduce me to some editors. I left sample packets with about a dozen of them.

The guys who illustrated for me were great, but ultimately, I'm not sure their artwork was up to par and at the very least I don't think it fit with what I was going for. So I've enlisted a new illustrator (he's excellent) to redo the mockup pages.

My question: I'd like to follow up with the editors I met in San Diego, but I don't know whether to do that immediately (and tell them I've got someone new working on the art) or to wait until the new artwork is finished and resubmit the sample packet.

Any advice?

Thanks,
-Adam

Axler

Banned
Reaction score
Website
www.markellisink.com
Well...if I were you....

Before I resubmited the entire package, I'd find out what the overall response to the proposal is before taking any further action.

Did you include SASEs with the packages or was it understood that you'd inquire of the editors within a certain period of time or did you leave it as "don't call us, we'll call you" kind of situation?

johnzakour

Dangerous with a Keyboard
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.johnzakour.com
You should have the business cards from all the editors you talked to. Just drop them a quick "just checking in" email.

I imagine most editors are still calming down from comic con and then wizard world.

wordmonkey

ook
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.writingmonkey.com