Moving from POD to traditional help

Status
Not open for further replies.

paladinb

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all this is my first time posting on here so first helo to everyone. Anyway my question is I have already published my novel here but I am considering approaching traditional publishers/agents. This is mainly as I was given conflicting advice regarding POD and it's only know (after speaking with a manager at a Waterstones branch) I realising some of the downsides of having go down this route(I had planned to POD while looking for a traditional publisher).

Does anyone have any advice about going about it. i.e do I mention the fact up front in the initial query that the novel has already been self published or wait to see if they request a manuscript first and then mention it?

Judging by some of the posts here I may have shot myself in the foot by POD self-publishing first but I'll still going to try.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot

Barry

http://www.lulu.com/content/482945

JAGiunta

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jagiunta.com
I've been debating that issue myself. I've been told to just go ahead and submit the manuscript with full disclosure. Any interested agent/publisher will take it on if they think it will sell. The only difference now being first printing rights have been used.

I still haven't submitted mine, though. It's the first of a trilogy, and I'm half way through the second book. I suppose I'll submit once I've finished all three.

paladinb

Registered
Reaction score
wow that's really scary as mine situation is exactly the same. Mine is the first of a trilogy as well. Can I ask where you got your advice from? As the advice I've had so far has been been pretty much you can kiss goodbye to anyone taking the book on.

Are you still marketing your first POD book?

JAGiunta

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jagiunta.com