Help! What does a managing editor do?

eric11210

Registered
Reaction score
Not sure this is the right place to put this question, but I figured I'd give it a shot.

I'm currently hunting for a new job (as with most writers, I don't exactly pay the bills just from my writing). Anyway, I was glancing through a listing online of jobs and came across an ad for a job as a Managing Editor for a small Jewish newspaper (for the record, I'm Jewish and an ordained rabbi, so I have that part down without a problem). Totally on a lark, I sent in a resume. I said to myself, "I'm a published author and when I was a kid I dreamed of being a journalist, so why not?"

To my utter astonishment, they want to interview me this Friday. I'm supposed to be talking (via telephone since they are in another state) with the director of the Jewish Federation there and I think it was the either the Editor-in-Chief or the Managing Editor of the local general interest newspaper.

Now I honestly don't believe I have a prayer of actually landing this job. The only journalistic experience I ever had was editor-in-chief of my high school newspaper and yearbook and a feature columnist for my college newspaper. I've sold one story so far and have a blog which has been up for a few months. I've written dozens of stories and editorials and one complete novel (plus started several others, so far unpublished, but I've submitted several stories).

That said, I don't want to look like a complete idiot when I interview with these people on Friday, so any advice on what a managing editor does (as opposed to an editor-in-chief, or are they the same thing?) would be helpful.

My guess is that managing editor is responsible for day-to-day operations, making sure stories are covered and get out smoothly and doing occasional proofing of stories and layout, but I could be wrong.