TackY? Unheard of?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Star

So cool I am
Registered
Reaction score
Dear fellow scribes,

As some of you may know, my novel will finally be published by a major house. Furthermore, you may remember that my novel was rescued from the trash by a junior editor. When we spoke over the phone, I half-jokingly said to her, "I HAVE to take you to dinner." And she replied, "No, no..." and laughed.

Okay, I accept that. But I really want to do something nice for her. Would it be tacky to send flowers? Or should I just send a card? I want to show my appreciation somehow; but I don't want to turn her off, or make her think I'm a kooky stalker author.

(I also offered my agent dinner/chocolate and he laughingly declined. This is kinda' frustrating since he also saved me from self-publishing my novel.

Sigh.

Advice, anyone?

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com
Many agents and publishers say that they appreciate it when their clients say thank you, but that it isn't necessary to give them gifts as a thank you since technically they are doing their job.

I never gave a gift to either of mine, though I did thank them profusely and sent an ecard to my agent! No flowers or anything and in fact they both took ME to lunch. I think so long as you keep your enthusiasm that's all you need.

Then again, I did send my agent a small gift basket of champagne and chocolates on our anniversary. But by then I had known her a year, and I am very comfortable with her, quite friendly. It's all about your instincts, not much of an answer, but the good news is, if you wind up doing nothing, that's okay too!

Star

So cool I am
Registered
Reaction score
Wow, you're a kind one toothpaste! :)

I totally hear you. It's just that my circumstances in both cases were so rare. My agent gave me a second chance - out of nowhere! And this junior editor risked debating with her boss over my work.

hmmmm...

Twizzle