PDA

View Full Version : Rejection

Birol
07-24-2007, 07:49 PM
How does rejection really affect you as a writer? Has the impact rejections had on you changed over the course of your career? Were those changes a conscious choice you made? Does getting rejection effect you differently depending on the type of writing it is, for example getting turned down for a work-for-hire position vs. a short story or poem in a magazine?

Also, how do you really feel about form rejections? Why?

Azraelsbane
07-24-2007, 07:55 PM
Well, I don't have much experience with this. I've been writing for 10 years and I've sent out 1 query letter. I posted the rejection above my bed to remind myself that I need to improve. It wasn't a form letter, and it really didn't affect my writing, since I kept right on going with that, but I never queried again. But that's probably just me being a terrified, lazy git. I guess it could have affected my career though, as I still don't have one ;)

Birol
07-24-2007, 08:01 PM
You've only sent out one query? Do you sub full manuscripts or just not sub?

Meerkat
07-24-2007, 08:20 PM
I used to send one or two full manuscripts with a sketchy cover letter. Two dozen or so rejections introduced a level of inertia that I have not been able to overcome for several months now. I gave away one of my WIPs including all rights to another writer. I can imagine myself getting my ass back in gear any day now!

Timely question Lori, may we ask what causes you to ask it at this time?

Azraelsbane
07-24-2007, 08:22 PM
I don't submit. I just write. Heh. I know, I'm a loser, and it really has nothing to do with a wish to not be published. Being published would be nice, but I have to query first ;)

The one query was to SF&F magazine, for a short story, and it was about 5 years ago. I write short stories and novels, but I can never get up the guts to send out queries it seems. ::shrug::

Azraelsbane
07-24-2007, 08:25 PM