Anyone else torn between two (or more) passions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kikazaru

Hi all. I am a frequent lurker on these boards and I am in awe (and more than a little bit depressed) to see everyone's dedication to their craft. How do you do it? I love to write - I write something everyday - usually just short articles about everyday things and I am currently plugging (slowly - very, very slowly) away at a novel. However I also love to paint, draw, make jewellery and do home renovations. Does anyone else do other things or am I doomed to fail because I am a dilettante? If you do other things please tell me how you manage to fit it all in.

Gala

fitting

Well, I am a musician, play several instruments. Piano and guitar at my whim, the violin for orchestras and groups I perform with.

I'm into digital photography, hiking, playing around with computer software, desktop publishing, webmastering, reading several books a week... I won't bore you--it's a long list.

In my experience it's not unusual for artistic types, i.e. writers to enjoy a variety of pursuits.

I don't fit it all in. I sleep less than I should. Today I woke at 5, wanting to write, but knowing I really *should* sleep more. I got up and wrote.

My way is to spend time on pursuits that make me happy, and are useful to the world. I know I can't do it all, and god knows I've tried.

I ask myself, "Does this further what I want my life to represent? Does it actualize my life purpose?"

If it doesn't, out it goes.

As for writing, yes; I write every day, and most nights, and a bit in between. I can't not.

Risseybug

Re: fitting

Um, well, let's see....
I sew, right now for money, b/c it's Ren Faire season and the money is good.

I make candles. If you want to see, go to www.freewebs.com/sweetiepeacandles . It's my own business, most of the time I work the craft fair circuit. I also make cigar box purses.

I scrapbook. I have a two year old, gotta do something with all those pictures.