Weird Writing Jobs

Status
Not open for further replies.

katiemac

Five by Five
Registered
Reaction score
It was more of an editing job than a writing one, but basically I was testing outputs of different translation softwares, operated by different translators. I read English translations of Chinese and Arabic newscasts, and making sure the translation transcripts matched each other. There were some really good translations, and others really, really bad, still full of Chinese or Arabic (neither which I read).

It was an interesting gig for the short-term. Nothing I could do longer than a couple of months. Plus, I'm probably on government radar now.

Harper K

here's to the girl on the go
Registered
Reaction score
Website
weirdquietgirl.wordpress.com
Like katiemac's, mine also dealt with translated English.

My day job is with a language services company. We house a translation agency, and last summer one of the translation project managers asked me to do some "light editing" of a number of Pakistani newspaper articles that had been translated from Urdu to English. Too bad that number of articles was 165, and the "light editing" turned out to involve deciphering the meaning of each article and then rewriting all 165, line by wretched line.

The very basic rule with translations -- at least in our agency -- is that the translator translates INTO his native language, not from it. These articles had obviously not been done that way. Names had been translated phonetically, modifiers dangled all over the place, and nearly everything was in passive voice. Oh, and a bunch of the articles were about cricket, which I knew nothing about at that point (but, oh, now I do!).

Lucky for you guys, I saved the original translations for their humor potential. Here's a favorite excerpt: