Total Newbie Here (Hi, Guys); Question about how much "Say" I have with my agent?

writerwithagent2

I'm grateful to have found this place to pose this important question I'm wrestling with right now.

I have an agent who's absolutely legit, based both on his publishing record and the threads I've read on this board. I felt great about it when we agreed to work together, but over the past two or so months, his level of communication with me has left me frustrated, to say the least. It's not uncommon for me to email him (though I don't do it often) and not receive a response for over a week. This, and we've barely scratched the surface of the book's outline. That's my first point.

My most pressing problem/question, however, is this: my vision for the book is entirely different from his. Granted, my book would be more expensive to produce and I do value his perspective as someone with experience that this kind of book would be a harder sell. But I believe in my vision for the book, so much so that I'm willing to take the chance of not getting published at all in order to move forward with my idea.

My agent is nice, so I'm not necessarily afraid to approach him, but what I want to tell him is this: I want to do the book my way, and I want his input beyond that point. In other words, I want to continue to work with him, but I want him to be open to the format I envision.

Thoughts? How much does a first-time author have to take what his agent says as gospel, and how much does an author have to trust his own instincts? Thanks so much for letting me throw this out there.

Deleted member 42

I'm going to move this thread to the Ask the Agent board, where it's more likely to be seen and responded to.*

Hold on to your hats . . .

*Yes, yes I did end a sentence with a proposition. Winston and Geoffrey would be so proud . . .

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com