PDA

View Full Version : Questions about a Cool New Gig

UrbanMuse
07-13-2007, 03:55 AM
I have been writing freelance editorial content for websites and magazines and one of the startup companies I recently profiled liked the article so much they invited me to do part time PR/marketing for them. My day job is in PR/marketing (a different industry, which shouldn't be a conflict), so I have lots of ideas, but also a lot of questions for those of you who are more seasoned as an independent contractor.

I have always been paid by the word or assignment, so I'm not sure how to charge. Since their offices are across the country, I'll be working from home and reporting my hours. How should I handle the accountability for hours worked? And what happens if I establish a long-term relationship with this company and my schedule or situation changes? They want me to do a lot of outreach to blogs and social networking sites, but what are the ethical boundaries when you're getting paid vs. sharing a random sites with a friend? Any suggestions? Thanks!

Susan

jenfreedom
07-13-2007, 11:34 AM
I have been writing freelance editorial content for websites and magazines and one of the startup companies I recently profiled liked the article so much they invited me to do part time PR/marketing for them. My day job is in PR/marketing (a different industry, which shouldn't be a conflict), so I have lots of ideas, but also a lot of questions for those of you who are more seasoned as an independent contractor.