What's an acceptable advance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Garpyboy

Hi, i got a publishing contract a couple of days ago. I'm a first time author, and I've now got an agent looking things over, but...I'm curious...would £10k for a one book deal be considered average/good/bad for an advance?

Obviously more money is nice, but my main concern is to ensure the publisher is going to get behind this book and support it, and I have heard the greater the advance the more likely a publisher is to ensure the book is a success by pumping up the marketing...if for no other reason than to ensure they make the money on the advance back!

You do hear of 1st timers hitting 6 figures, but I'm guessing that's immensely rare.

Anyway, my first post here...hopefully first of many. I found this forum whilst looking for advice on contracts and advances etc. It's good to see quite a lot of posting activity.

Jamesaritchie

That's a pretty decent advance for a first novel. Maybe even a bit above average. Pumping up marketing won't ensure success. If it did, the publish would pump up marketing on every novel.

What will ensure success is that you've written a book people not only want to read, but want to talk about.

katdad

If you're a new writer then 10k is quite reasonable. The publisher sets the advance to match the expected first printing run. If the book then becomes a hit, the later royalties for subsequent printings will pick up the remainder of the slack.

So my idea is that you may be okay here.

Is your book genre (SF, fantasy, mystery, etc.) or mainstream?

Garpyboy

thriller....in the same ballpark as Harlan Coben, Dan Brown type stuff.

SFEley

Garpyboy wrote:
Hi, i got a publishing contract a couple of days ago. I'm a first time author, and I've now got an agent looking things over, but...I'm curious...would £10k for a one book deal be considered average/good/bad for an advance?